Territorial, Federal and Indian day schools are maintained by the authorities concerned and residential, mission, mine, public and separate schools receive aid in the form of grants or supplies from the government authorities concerned. A Superintendent of Education, with headquarters at Fort Smith, periodically inspects the schools of the Mackenzic District. These schools follow the program of studies for elementary and secondary schools authorized by the Alberta Department of Education. In remote areas, elementary and high-school students have access to correspondence-course studies issued by the educational authorities of Alberta and the cost is borne by the territorial administration.

A modified elementary-school curriculum is followed by some of the Federal schools for Eskimos by way of meeting the unique needs in the Arctic regions and a suitable curriculum for teaching Eskimo children in Mission schools is being considered. Because of their nomadic way of life Eskimos seldom remain long at the settlements and the periods available to the Missions for teaching the children are comparatively short. The Eskimos of the Eastern Arctic have long had a system of syllabic writing (expressed as geometric phonetic characters) which most of them can now read and write proficiently. Syllabic writing has been used successfully to provide educational material in the Eskimo language on health matters, hygiene, and native economics for the benefit of both children and adults. It is hoped that the establishment of schools in Eskimo territory will be influential in teaching the Eskimos to understand, speak and read simple English.

A program designed to improve education and welfare facilities generally has been initiated in the Northwest Territories. The program includes regular distribution of educational films, special radio broadcasts to classrooms, the provision of additional equipment and supplies, and increased attention to methods of instruction. Schools are usually staffed by a particular classification of welfare teachers, who carry on welfare work in the communities in addition to regular teaching duties.

Yukon Territory.—Public schools in Yukon are operated by the Territorial Government at Dawson, Mayo, Whitehorse, Carcross, Teslin, Watson Lake, Haines Junction, Kluane Lake, Brook's Brook, Destruction Bay and Swift River. The Roman Catholic Church operates a day school at Dawson and a residential school at Whitehorse.

The education of native children is carried on in day schools operated by the Indian Affairs Branch of the Department of Citizenship and Immigration and in residential schools operated by religious denominations. Full-time day schools are maintained at Whitehorse, Carmacks, Mayo, Moosehide and Old Crow, and seasonal schools at Burwash Landing, Ross River and at other points as required. A residential school is conducted under the auspices of the Church of England at Carcross. Close to the southern boundary of Yukon Territory at Lower Post in British Columbia, an Indian residential school is conducted under the auspices of the Roman Catholic Church. Residential schools in Yukon receive a per capita grant for Indian children registered therein.

The schools in the Territory follow the program of studies of the British Columbia Department of Education. The public schools at Dawson and Whitehorse have high-school departments providing education leading to university entrance. University entrance (junior matriculation) examinations are held in June at Dawson and Whitehorse by authority of the British Columbia Department of Education. The examination papers are forwarded from Victoria and are returned there for grading. In outlying districts correspondence courses are provided at a nominal fee by the British Columbia Department of Education.